Today Caroline sent me this and I must say I love it.

It took me a long time to understand what the Brits say “The content” and what they actually mean.

Enjoy: Source

Negotiating With the British

Monday, 16th May 2011
Via Jack Schofield, What We Say vs What We Mean vs What They Understand:

I love the additional comments:

Author They Say They mean Others hear
Rhoda Klapp Lessons have been learned We are going to do it again exactly the same way and cross our fingers They aren’t going to do it again.
Russell Say: “Moving forward….” Mean: “The present is shit and all bets are off” Others: “We have a long future together”
John Dubai British say “We do not support this treaty” British mean “This is a gross injustice and will cost millions.” They hear “We love this European treaty, and we accept it”.
OSMarsupial Brits: “That’s a great idea!” We mean: “Yeah, not bad, not brilliant” Translated as: “They like it.”
Kevin Lynch You say (to an Irishman): How very Irish! You mean: Eccentric, amusing….but quite clever. We think: You supercilious, patronising racist bastards!
Kingstonian I think we should draw a line under this. I really don’t want to talk about this anymore, it is embarrassing. They want to underline how important this issue really is.
Tim Brit says: “leave it with me” He/she means: I’ll never touch this again. People understand: Great they are all over this and will make sure it gets taken care of.
glenn rose ‘Robust systems are now in place to ensure’… means – ‘we’ve shut the stable door after the horse has bolted, but have changed how things are done so that the management can’t be fingered in future’, and is understood to mean, ‘Lessons have been learned …’
